top of page

Swedish Apple Pie

As part of my bridal shower, my mom sent out recipe cards for all of the guests to share their favorite recipes. My grandmother gave me one of her “quick and easy” apple pie recipes that she had clipped from a newspaper. It’s just that and more! It’s always a crowd pleaser and totally delicious. It’s more like a cake sitting on a bed of apples. I hope you enjoy!



Ingredients

  • 3 lbs apples, peeled and sliced thin (I often use less, like 5-6 medium apples)

  • 1 tablespoon sugar

  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

  • 1 cup flour

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

  • 1 egg, beaten

  • 3/4 cup melted butter (I sometimes substitute with dairy free butter for my DF family members)


Equipment


Instructions

1. Butter pie pan and preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Fill pie dish with thinly sliced apples.

3. Mix 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tbs sugar together then sprinkle over apples.

4. In a mixing bowl, mix together flour, sugar, salt, and nuts (if using).

5. Stir in the beaten egg and melted butter.

6. Pour the batter over the apples.

7. Bake for 45 minutes or until top is brown.

8. Enjoy with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page